Guilty Pleasure

Everyone, I have a confession – I used to be addicted to Cosmo.

Ok, maybe my addiction isn’t that big of a deal. After all, Cosmo -or Cosmopolitan- has a huge following. It’s following consists of mainly females -it’s tagline is “For the Fun Fearless Female”-, but I’m not going to say only females read it because that’s just not true. If you don’t believe me, you can go on their website and see a tab that’s for men. Cosmopolitan prides itself on sexy ideas and relationship advice for its readers so of course some men would be interested in it. Actually, a lot of different people are interested in it.

Personally, I don’t remember the first time I started reading Cosmo. However, I do remember the first time I saw one of the magazines. The cover was bright yellow, the words were in Spanish, and  an adult took it away from me the moment I touched it. I couldn’t read the magazine – that was when I decided to learn how to read Spanish because those adults were obviously trying to hide something from me- but I knew that it was something that adults read. Of course my interest was piqued.

I no longer read Cosmo for various reasons, but I recognize it’s appeal. Sex, designer brands and beauty tips are things that people want to know about and Cosmo offers its. By reading the magazine, you’re finding out how to be a better you. You’re given the secret on how to please your partners – you don’t even want to get me started on that- and know what a community of women are thinking and wearing. Of course, I disagree with a lot of those previous statements, but I have to admit that Cosmo knows what its doing! I don’t agree with a lot of the images promoted by Cosmo, but I certainly have to agree that they have a good business sense.

Cosmo has a very wide public that ranges through different age groups to different genders and different countries worldwide. It’s a worldwide guilty pleasure. I still got judged by a lot of my male friends for reading it, but at the end of the day guess who wanted to read it too? Of course, they were critical of it, but it was an entertaining read and that’s what were were looking for.

Cosmo has a large public and it interacts with them in a fun way. It’s like that older sister that has all these tips for you and that you listen to with rapt attention. Of course, their advice isn’t always correct and can be a bit degrading. My goal in life is not to please a suitor, which is what a large part of the magazine is dedicated to. I’m never going to be like the girls featured in Cosmo, but that’s what a lot of people are aiming for. I decided not to read Cosmo when I realized that they were filling my head with ideas that weren’t true at all. However, that’s just me and I’ll always remember the thrill I got when I read it with my friends. I will say though, think about the ideas that Cosmo is giving you about what women should be, do and look like. Is this all around  “perfect” being even possible?

Finally, on a brighter note, I will concede that despite Cosmo’s faults the Cosmo Confessions are hilarious! I definitely still open up  o that section when my friends have the magazine lying around. This leads me to another revelation. My second guilty pleasure is reading about other people’s embarrassing and awkward moments.

1 thought on “Guilty Pleasure

  1. luciefernandez92

    I am SUCH a sucker for Cosmo! Every time I’m in the supermarket or CVS on line waiting to pay, the magazine never fails to catch my attention and make me buy it. Of course I realize that some of its content is completely lame and superficial, but hey, sometimes I just want an easy read that I don’t have to think about or analyze the material. Its nice to just chill and live in Cosmo’s fantasy world of “beauty, perfection and hot guys” (oops haha). Even though I should probably be buying something more “intelligent” and of better quality, clearly Cosmo is doing something smarter than the other magazines if people can’t stop themselves from giving in to Cosmo’s spellbound cover! (Which I admit, is usually the only reason I buy the magazine)

    Reply

Leave a comment